Soul of a Woman arrives next month via Daptone Records

On November 17th, Daptone Records will release a final studio project from the late Sharon Jones.

WATCH: Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings Throw A ‘Holiday Soul Party’ On NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert

The eleven-track project was recorded entirely at the Brooklyn label’s Bushwick studio, House of Soul, transforming some of the soul legend’s very last sessions into a testament of her power and influence in music. The album is being offered in both digital and vinyl formats. The latter is pressed to 12-inch picture disc and bunded with t-shirts, a slip-mat bearing the singer’s high school portrait. Jones passed late last year after a long bout with pancreatic cancer and was the subject of Barbara Kopple’s critically-lauded Miss Sharon Jones documentary.

READ: Sharon Jones Was Singing Till The End, Says Dap-Kings’ Gabriel Roth

Watch a video for the new single, “Matter of Time” above. Scroll on for the full track list and hit the link below to pre-order your copy of the album on vinyl.


Track List:
01 Matter of Time
02 Sail On
03 Just Give Me Your Time
04 Come and Be a Winner
05 Rumors
06 Pass Me By
07 Searching for a New Day
08 These Tears (No Longer for You)
09 When I Saw Your Face
10 Girl (You Got to Forgive Him)
11 Call on God

The post Daptone Records Announce Final Sharon Jones Album, Release New Single “Matter of Time” appeared first on Okayplayer.